Curriculum Plan

At Thorogate School we work on a two year cycle of topics so that we meet the requirements of the National Curriculum, the latest revision of which came into effect in September 2014.

By working in this way, we foster collaboration between the classes in the key phases as the children progress through school:

  • Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) - Foundation Stage 2
  • Key Stage 1 (KS1) - Year 1 & Year 2
  • Lower Key Stage 2 (LKS2) - Year 3 & Year 4
  • Upper Key Stage 2 (UKS2) - Year 4 & Year 5

The title of the topics and when they taught may vary, as the teachers match availability of  resources, trips and pupil interest with the need for curriculum coverage.  At the start of each term, parents and pupils receive summary information about what will be taught that term.

A copy of the current curriculum map can be downloaded.


Reading, and hence phonics, is given high priority at Thorogate School. We use  Oxford Reading as our main scheme and supplement this additional titles from other schemes such as Project X.


Phonics is an important element of learning to read and write.  At Thorogate School, this does not simply stop when pupils join the juniors in Year 3:  phonics continues as part of the Spelling, Punctuation and Grammar (SPaG) learning.  We use RWI Spelling in Y2 - Y6 to ensure pupils leave our school being competent spellers.

Primary National Curriculum

PRIMARY National Curriculum

Curriculum Plan

Parents Complete Guide